Garn Press Interview Collection: Fiction – David Joseph Kolb, Rick Meyer, Geoff Ward, Ruth Finnegan, Martin Lee, Matthew Fleury, and James Paul Gee

Garn Press authors are all original thinkers, writers of conscience, who create remarkable books. In these Garn Press interviews readers have an opportunity to meet the authors and learn more about them.

 

1080x580-david-joseph-kolb-devil-knows-garn-pressGarn Press Interviews: David Joseph Kolb, Author of Devil Knows: A Tale of Murder and Madness in America’s First Century

Read interview with David Joseph Kolb

David Joseph Kolb is a journalist and author. Born in New York City, he has lived mostly in the Midwest, serving as editorial page editor, city hall reporter and police reporter for newspapers there for more than a quarter-century. Devil Knows: A Tale of Murder and Madness in America’s First Century is a mystery-in-the-archives thriller written with great charm and cinematic flair. David was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for Devil Knows and the novel was a finalist in the USA Best Book Awards in the Historical Fiction category. David Joseph Kolb’s book, Devil Knows: A Tale of Murder and Madness in America’s First Century, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Reviews of Devil Knows: A Tale of Murder and Madness in America’s First Century

“With relentless research, fascinating characters and a great storyteller’s imagination, David Kolb unravels a lingering mystery from the historical horror known as the Salem witch trials: How did Mary Bradbury become Salem’s only convicted “witch” to escape execution? Like other great historical fiction, Kolb’s narrative picks up where facts leave off and reveals disturbing, yet valuable, truths.” – Clarence Page, Pulitzer Prize-winning syndicated columnist for the Chicago Tribune

“Award-winning journalist David Kolb has created an interwoven tale of the earliest days of American history. Religious differences and philosophies, witches, battles and conspiracies against the Native American people all lead to an intriguing tale. In this well-researched story he shows how the earliest inhabitants of New England fought, conspired, loved and lived in the New World.” – John McGarry, CEO, Lakeshore (MI) Museum Center

 

 

rick-meyer-garn-pressGarn Press Interviews: Rick Meyer, Author of Flush: The Exaggerated Memoir of a Fourth Grade Scaredy-Cat Super-Hero

Read interview with Rick Meyer

Rick Meyer is a celebrated scholar and a well-known social justice activist who has devoted his life to the support of teachers and children. He is also a much-loved teacher, but many might not know that he is also a great storyteller. If this is news to you or if you are already a fan of Rick’s storytelling, Flush: The Exaggerated Memoir of a Fourth Grade Scaredy-Cat Super-Hero, is bound to be at the top of your summer reading list. Flush is one of those wonderful books that can be enjoyed at any age. Fourth graders will love it and so will their parents and grandparents. Rick’s voice rings true – Flush is great storytelling written down – honest, without affectation, it is a simple tale brilliantly written. Rick Meyer’s book, Flush: The Exaggerated Memoir of a Fourth Grade Scaredy-Cat Super-Hero, will be available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, June 2016.

 

 

Geoff Ward, Author Of You’re Not Dead From Garn PressGarn Press Interviews: Geoff Ward, Author of You’re Not Dead: The Midnight Books Volume One

Read interview with Geoff Ward

Geoff Ward has taught and published on English and American literature in Europe, the USA and Japan. He has written the first study of the New York School of Poets, Statutes of Liberty (1993/2001) among other books and essays. A Life Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, he has written and presented documentaries on American writers for BBC Radio, and has published several collections of poetry, including Worry Dream (2013). He is currently Principal of Homerton College, University of Cambridge. You’re Not Dead is his first novel, and the first in a series. It builds on a lifetime’s enthusiasm for fantasy and other forms of genre fiction, explored with the aim to entertain, but also to raise serious questions about time, memory and whether what we see – in life, as well as in the mirror – is what is really there. Geoff Ward’s book, You’re Not Dead: The Midnight Books Volume One, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Reviews of You’re Not Dead: The Midnight Books Volume One

“Geoff Ward’s glitteringly funny and scary novel sends his hero Miles on a wild pursuit, through this world and the next, of one of only three known copies of the rarest book in existence. Like the object of his obsessive quest, You’re Not Dead is both supreme fiction and grail, a one-off exemplar of a lost original.” – John Ashbery, Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, the National Book Award, and the National Book Critics Circle Award

 

 

2-1080x580-ruth-finnegan-feather-q-book-reviewGarn Press Interviews: Ruth Finnegan, Author of Black Inked Pearl: A Girl’s Quest

Read interview with Ruth Finnegan

Ruth Finnegan, OBE, author of The Black Inked Pearlis a renowned scholar and celebrated writer who is Emeritus Professor, the Open University, a Fellow of the British Academy, and an Honorary Fellow of Somerville College Oxford. She was born and reared in Ulster and sent to a Quaker school filled with biblical texts and music, which are reflected in the novel. First-class Oxford degrees in classics and philosophy were followed by African fieldwork, which Ruth describes as “totally inspiring for my life and work.” She returned to Oxford for a doctorate in anthropology before university teaching in Africa and briefly in Fiji, and finally the Open University in the U.K. She has three wonderful daughters and five grandchildren, and she lives with her husband and two cairn terriers in Old Bletchley, Buckinghamshire. Ruth Finnegan’s book, Black Inked Pearl: A Girl’s Quest, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Reviews of Black Inked Pearl: A Girl’s Quest

“I read Black-Inked Pearl with delight and surprise. It is a long, entrancing tale, often touching on the threshold of poetry … ” – Itala Vivan, University of Milan, Italy

“A delightfully dreamlike, mystical tale of epic scope, spiritually and erotically charged, and rich in cultural and linguistic play, with hints of Gerard Manley Hopkins, Dante, James Joyce and poetry from the oral traditions of both Ireland and Africa. A fascinating volume.”- Mike Hanne, Founder of the Comparative Literature programme at the University of Auckland, Author of The Power of the Story: Fiction and Political Change (Providence and Oxford: Berghahn 1995)

“I immensely enjoyed it. VERY interesting, takes you into another world. Not just  a love story, a spiritual message.”- Reverend Jan Beer, St Faith’s, The Parish Church of Lee-on-the-Solent

 

 

1080x580-martin-lee-garn-press-2Garn Press Interviews: Martin Lee, Co-Author of Bloody Lane

Read Interview with Martin Lee

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education. After teaching in New York City and in Arizona, he returned to New York, where, for thirty years, he has been working as a full-time freelance educational writer. He has authored more than fifty books for children and young adults, many of which, like Paul Revere and The Seminoles, reflect his interest in American history. He has been a long-time, avid student of the Civil War period and a regular visitor to Civil War battlefields. Martin Lee’s book, Bloody Lane, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

 

1632x768-matthew-fleury-garn-pressGarn Press Interviews: Matthew Fleury, Co-Author of Bloody Lane

Read Interview with Matthew Fleury

Matthew Fleury grew up in northern New York State. He attended Binghamton University, where he met Martin Lee, his life-long friend and co-writer of Bloody Lane. After graduating with a degree in English literature, Matthew moved to New York. He started his career in publishing at the Village Voice, then wrote and edited for two filmmaking publications. As a freelance writer for a literary magazine, Fleury contributed stories, essays, and an interview in Italy with Nobel Laureate Dario Fo, who at the time was barred from the United States. He has also written plays and adapted stories for the theater. Matthew has enjoyed a career of over 25 years in educational publishing, specializing in English language arts, and has served as Editor in Chief and as Director of Research and Development. Matthew Fleury’s book, Bloody Lane, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Reviews of Bloody Lane

“Loved it! If you’re a Civil War buff, you won’t be able to put this book down. But even if you know nothing at all about that history, you’ll quickly be hooked by an ingenious plot and a fascinating cast of characters. Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury are natural-born story-tellers, and I congratulate them for keeping me guessing right up until the surprising climax. Bloody Lane is a bloody good read!” – Krin Gabbard, Professor Emeritus, Stony Brook University

“Felix Allaben is a vividly drawn, hard-boiled character in the tradition of Philip Marlowe or Sam Spade. After a murder at historic Antietam battlefield, Detective Allaben gets pulled into a murky and dangerous world, where nothing is as it appears. Stylish, taut, complex … a bloody good read.” – Justin Martin, author of Rebel Souls: Walt Whitman and America’s First Bohemians

 

 

blog-image-jmaes-paul-gee-2Garn Press Interviews: James Paul Gee, Author of Blowing Out The Candles

Read interview with James Paul Gee

James Paul Gee was born in San Jose, California in 1948. He was raised a devote Catholic and attended a seminary for 5 years, starting at the age of 13. He received his PhD in linguistics in 1975 from Stanford University. He has written and taught in a wide variety of areas, including syntactic theory, psycholinguistics, literary stylistics, sociolinguistics, discourse analysis, literacy studies, ASL linguistics, deaf education, learning theory, and digital media, with an emphasis on video games and learning. He has taught and been tenured at six different colleges and held three endowed chairs. He is currently the Mary Lou Fulton Presidential Professor at Arizona State University. He loves nature and birding, and abhors the disrespect we humans have shown our world and each other.

James Paul Gee writes poetry as the “spirit” moves him, not as an academic, but as an older human being who, like all old people, can see the face of death, the value of life, and the need to imagine and implement new and better worlds for all creatures, human and otherwise. Read “Vampires” from Blowing Out the Candles: A Poetry Trilogy by James Paul Gee. James Paul Gee’s book, Blowing Out The Candles, is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

 

Liked it? Support Garn Press Indie Publishing. Take a second to support Garn Press on Patreon!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!