GARN RECOMMENDED READING: Bloody Lane by Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury

A weekly book series from Garn Press featuring our recommended book for the week. This week’s recommended reading: Bloody Lane by Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury. Bloody Lane is a literary crime novel that is a heart stopping, five-star, page-turner that will appeal to crime novel aficionados but also readers of historical novels who imagine the possible repercussions of historical events on our lives today. Paperback book ON SALE, 20% off on Amazon, $14.35.

Author: Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury
(352 pp.)
ON SALE, paperback book 20% off on Amazon (sale on Amazon only)
$14.35 paperback, 27.95 hardcover, $9.99 e-book and $2.99 through Kindle Matchbook Program
ISBN: 9781942146001
Paperback and Hardcover: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound (local bookstores)
ebook: Amazon Kindle MatchBook Discount – $2.99 – Amazon

Book Description

Felix Allaben is a haunted man. Haunted by the memory of his wife, gunned down in a mugging gone awry. Haunted by his responsibilities as a single father of a teenage girl. And, as Bloody Lane opens, haunted by the murder of Curtis Gwynn, an ex-cop whom Allaben had known when both served in the Baltimore Police Department. Gwynn is found dressed in the uniform of a Civil War re-enactor on the hallowed grounds of the Antietam battlefield—shot through the head.

Allaben is a special investigator with the Department of Justice. He has been summoned by a shadowy official in Washington to get to the bottom of the crime. Working in tandem with the local sheriff, Felix weaves his way through a maze of leads, lies, and dead ends in his effort to make sense of this first death and of others that unexpectedly follow. In so doing, he comes up against an armed, active, neo-Confederate hate group operating out of a local gun club and bent on domestic terrorism.

The suspects are many. Among them are an unstable realtor with whom Gwynn was having an affair; her alcoholic, hot-headed husband; their son, a Civil War enthusiast who’s been upset by the unsavory lifestyles of his parents; her brother, a rising politician, and a retired Navy contractor, as well as other members of the aforementioned militia.

Bloody Lane is set in and around Frederick, Maryland, a small city with an intriguing past. The infamous Civil War battle of Antietam, fought nearby, yielded the single bloodiest day in American history. The conclusion is both violent and unsettling.

Reviews

“A body lies dead on the battlefield at Antietam. Nothing unusual there – so did 23,000 others, victims of the bloodiest day of the Civil War … however, the time is today, not 1862, and the dead man is a victim of murder, not war. So begins this riveting, intricately plotted, beautifully written novel, with a rich cast of characters and a plot that brilliantly parallels the events of September 17, 1862 …” – Robert Leonard Reid, author of Arctic Circle and Mountains of the Great Blue Dream

“Loved it! If you’re a Civil War buff, you won’t be able to put this book down. But even if you know nothing at all about that history, you’ll quickly be hooked by an ingenious plot and a fascinating cast of characters. Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury are natural-born story-tellers, and I congratulate them for keeping me guessing right up until the surprising climax. Bloody Lane is a bloody good read!” – Krin Gabbard, Professor Emeritus, Stony Brook University

“Felix Allaben is a vividly drawn, hard-boiled character in the tradition of Philip Marlowe or Sam Spade. After a murder at historic Antietam battlefield, Detective Allaben gets pulled into a murky and dangerous world, where nothing is as it appears. Stylish, taut, complex … a bloody good read.” – Justin Martin, author of Rebel Souls: Walt Whitman and America’s First Bohemians

“An engaging and well-plotted mystery surrounding the battlefield at Antietam and the long term impact of the Civil War on this country’s political and social evolution. This book has something to offer both crime novel enthusiasts and history buffs alike, providing interesting characters, an evocative setting, and well-crafted storytelling. I’m hoping for a lengthy series and more adventures with Felix.” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

“I loved this book, even though I’m not a fiction fan. It’s a great read for both mystery lovers and Civil War buffs and inspires me to visit the town and battlefield where it takes place. The characters, atmosphere and plot give off a noirish air that would make Philip Marlowe feel right at home.” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

“Bloody Lane is a terrific novel. It combines contemporary political and social issues with Civil War legacy, and it turns it all into a wonderful contemporary murder mystery. Civil War reenactors and venal politicians combine with minor league baseball create a marvelous sub text. I highly recommend this novel to any one viewing this website.” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

“A real page-turner, beautifully written. A clever plot with a final twist that fits seamlessly into the story line. In addition to the thrill of an excellently crafted detective story the reader gets the bonus of a serious lesson in Civil War history, impeccably researched. Not to be missed.” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

“A murder mystery with true-to-life characters and intriguing clues, Bloody Lane works on many levels. And the locale and setting in and around Civil War battlegrounds suffuses the narrative in ghostly echoes from those bygone killing fields. Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury brew this alchemy with a mastery one would never expect from first time novelists. They have delivered a genuine page-turner—yet written so artfully that one has to linger to savor the prose!” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

“Agree with all of the enthusiastic reviews but would like to add that I found it this book particularly timely given all of the current state of (as someone said “paranoid”) politics and current events such as the armed Bundy rebellion out west. I found the combination of classic hard boiled detective story and contemporary issues riveting. Loved all of the characters. Let’s hope the authors have plans for more!” – AMAZON, Amazon Review

Bloody Lane by Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury. Paperback book ON SALE, 20% off on Amazon, $14.35.

 

Liked it? Support Garn Press Indie Publishing. Take a second to support Garn Press on Patreon!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!