Q&A with Author P. L. Thomas: Writing Rooted in His Wide-Awake Consciousness

At Garn Press we’re really curious about what makes authors write. Ruth Finnegan says her breathtaking novel Black Inked Pearl came to her in a dream, and that she would get up each morning and hurry to write down what she’d dreamed.

P. L. Thomas’s writing seems much more rooted in his wide-awake consciousness – his outrage at discrimination and a willingness to write furiously about racism and social injustice. And yet his writing, which is filled with insights and guided by an empathetic moral compass, is also poetic. Paul’s use of language is literary and deeply satisfying. He is a scholar as well as a human rights activist.

Garn Press has interviewed Paul Thomas about his writing and you can read the full interview below. Recently he wrote answers to questions asked of authors on Goodreads and Garn is reprinting them here.

Goodreads Q&A With Readers

GoodreadsWhere did you get the idea for your most recent book?

P.L. Thomas: Garn Press pitched the idea of me writing a book on Trump a while back, which I rejected. But over more than a year I found I was blogging often about Trump so I asked if they were still interested, and they were.

GoodreadsHow do you get inspired to write?

P.L. Thomas: Reading is huge—a novel is very inspiring for me as a writer. Social media fuels my blogging, which is more reading and engaging with other scholars, writers, artists. And new music and films can be incredibly inspiring.

Goodreads: What are you currently working on?

P.L. Thomas: Daily blogging as the topics come to me. The cyclic poetry that is unpredictable. And a few academic volume projects, one of which is on post-truth, fake news, and critical media literacy for students.

GoodreadsWhat’s your advice for aspiring writers?

P.L. Thomas: Read, read, read. Then write, write, write. There is nothing except the doing. one cannot wait to write or prepare to write. It is just the writing.

GoodreadsWhat’s the best thing about being a writer?

P.L. Thomas: The world of words and ideas. For me it is impossible to separate writing from reading (and listening and viewing). Language is very exciting and engaging for me and I love to play with the world through words.

GoodreadsHow do you deal with writer’s block?

P.L. Thomas: I have more trouble with writer fear, fear that once I finish a piece I will never write again. But I am not really a writer who suffers block.

GoodreadsWhat books are on your summer reading list this year?

P.L. Thomas: Looking but plan to reread Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace

Garn Press Interviews P.L. Thomas

Authors and their Books

GARN PRESS: Do you have a favorite author?

PAUL THOMAS: Although this is like choosing a favorite child or student, I do have a foundational and enduring love for Kurt Vonnegut and Margaret Atwood and then a more recent but blossoming love for Haruki Murakami.

GP: Is there one author who has influenced your writing more than any others?

PT: Poetry would be e.e. Cummings, James Dickey, and Emily Dickinson. My prose is profoundly and initially influenced by J.D. Salinger and William Faulkner, followed later by a powerful influence of Vonnegut.

GP: Do you think the relationships between authors and readers are changing?

PT: Now that I am a daily blogger, yes. There is more immediacy, more dialogue. The writer life is certainly more organic.

GP: Have you noticed any difference in your own relationships with your readers?

PT: My online presence has allowed me to be better aware that I do have readers. For the insecure (all writers), that is a blessing.

GP: If you could express one thought to all your readers what would it be?

PT: Kindness and basic human dignity must never be undervalued.

Writing as Part of Daily Life

GP: When do you write? Do you have a routine?

PT: No real routine, but I am compelled to write, and thus, am always writing. But I typically am a morning writer, preferably alone at home but in my office also.

GP: How do you begin a writing project?

PT: Most writing of mine (public/blogging, poetry, scholarly) simply comes to me since I have a writer’s mind (always thinking about what would be a good piece to write). Most ideas, I think, come out of my reader life as well as my teaching (interacting with students).

GP: Do you keep notebooks? Use special paper?

PT:  No, although I tried in my early years. All my writing now is at the keyboard also. For a long time, my poetry started as longhand with pen and scraps of paper, but everything is electronic now.

GP: What about pens and pencils? Are they important?

PT: Not any more. I have terrible handwriting so that was always an issue with longhand.

GP: Do you listen to music when you write?

PT: I adore silence.

GP: Do you share your writing while you are still writing or wait until you have a draft?

PT: Everything is a draft, and I am a compulsive over-sharer.

GP: How does your “day job” (academic, journalist etc.) influence your writing?

PT: Being a professor has been the greatest element in fully living the life of being a writer. I have the time, space, and support for being a writer that other professions would not afford, and would likely impede.

GP: What about ideas for books – do they percolate for years before you write, or do you work it out as you write, or perhaps a combination of both?

PT: Since I write daily (blog), that often serves as the initial drafts for my longer works. I have always quilted as a writer, pulling pieces together that develop a longer idea.

GP: What book or chapter of a book are you most proud of writing?

PT: My Garn book is very special since it grew out of my literature-based blogging about education and equity. Many of the literature-based essays, I think, are me at my best as a writer who is also a teacher.

The role of the writer in society

GP: What does it mean to be a writer in troubled times?

PT: Writing is an act of the conscience—troubled times always need a conscience.

GP: What worries you about today?

PT: Consumer culture has most of us living a frantic life, unable to pause long enough to recognize the corrosive nature of that culture. We are too busy to recognize and practice our humanity.

GP: What keeps you awake at night?

PT: I am a lifelong non-sleeper, sadly, so that answer is “my brain.”

GP: Is your writing connected to present day events?

PT: Yes, my writing is primarily driven by what is happening now, as well as what matters now.

GP: If you wrote a book about the future  — the way you imagine it will be — what kind of book would you write?

PT: Dystopian science fiction, in the tradition of Atwood and Vonnegut.

Early Reading Experiences

GP: What are your earliest memories of words?

PT: My mother and Dr. Seuss

GP: Do you remember your first books?

PT: Go, Dog, Go!, Green Eggs and Ham (still have them, my mother kept them)

GP: What about your earliest memories of someone reading to you?

PT: My mother reading to my sister and me

GP: Was there a moment when you first knew you could read?

PT: It seems that was always true; I have no memory before words, reading.

GP: What did you like about reading?

PT: I think it was/is both sound and how words approach the possible.

GP: What did you dislike about reading?

PT: Not a fan of reading (or writing) anything assigned.

GP: Did you have a favorite author when you were a young child?

PT: Dr. Seuss, E.B. White

GP: Did you read book series as a child?

PT: As a teen, I began reading compulsively everything by single authors, such as Arthur C. Clarke

GP: Do you remember your first reading lessons when you went to school?

PT: Had to be Ms. Lanford, who I recall very fondly, but not the actual lessons

GP: Can you remember doing research for a project in school?

PT: Only the clunky and awful “research papers” in high school.

GP: Did you study for exams — if so how?

PT: I am very visual. I wrote out notes in heavy black ink. Could easily “see” it all during tests.

Early Writing/Drawing Experiences

GP: What are your earliest memories of writing at home?

PT: My childhood was filled with play—my mom and dad played with us. I can’t distinguish between the games and the learning; that was what was special.

GP: Did you like to draw?

PT: Began drawing superhero comics from my comic book collection during my 9th grade and throughout high school

GP: Did you paint as a child?

PT: Again as part of the play yes

GP: Do you still have any of your early writing, drawings, or paintings?

PT: I have all my artwork from my teen years

GP: Can you remember being taught to write at school?

PT: My schooling was grammar and sentence diagramming until sophomore year, when Mr. Harrill had us write. He continued having us writing my junior year. Those two years were huge for my development as a writer, and reader.

GP: Do you remember if writing and penmanship were muddled? They often are.

PT: Elementary school was all about penmanship, yes.

GP: Was drawing linked with writing?

PT: Not in school, no.

GP: Do you have memories of learning to write an essay, a story, or a poem?

PT: I wrote a parody short story for Mr. Harrill in high school. I think it was my first real purposeful writing.

GP: What about taking tests – can you remember taking them?

PT: Yes, standardized tests were easy for me. I finished early, worried I had done poorly and then was always in the top percentiles. The advantages of privilege.

GP: Can you remember if you had other sorts of tests? Short answers? Essays?

PT: Classroom tests were mostly selected answer types (MC, matching) but some short answer, very little essay.

GP:  What advice would you give teachers if they asked you how they could create opportunities for their students to become enthusiastic readers and writers?

PT: Very simple: Choice. Make the classroom a literacy-rich environment that encourages and supports children/teens as readers and writers by choice.

Trumplandia: Unmasking Post-Truth America

Author: P.L. Thomas
Book: Trumplandia: Unmasking Post-Truth America
Garn Press (192 pp.)
Paperback $14.95 | Ebook $9.99 and $2.99 through Amazon’s Matchbook Program
Paperback: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Waterstones (UK/Europe) | BAM! | Indigo
Ebook: Amazon
Paperback: 978-1-942146-55-1
eBook: 978-1-942146-54-4

United We Stand Divided We Fall: Opposing Trump’s Agenda – Essays on Protest and Resistance

Book: United We Stand Divided We Fall: Opposing Trump’s Agenda – Essays on Protest and Resistance
Authors: 17 contributing authors (see list below)
(192 pp.) $14.95
ISBN: 978-1942146575
Paperback: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones | IndieBound (local bookstore) | Books-A-Million! | Indigo Books
Ebook:  Amazon

Beware the Roadbuilders: Literature as Resistance

Paperback ISBN: 978-1-942146-07-0
Paperback: $19.95 ON SALE on Amazon
Paperback: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound (local bookstores)| Waterstones
eBook ISBN: 978-1-942146-08-7
eBook: $9.99 | $2.99 Kindle Matchbook
eBook: Amazon

Liked it? Support Garn Press Indie Publishing. Take a second to support Garn Press on Patreon!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!