GARN PRESS AUTHOR

MARTIN LEE

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education. After teaching in New York City and in Arizona, he returned to New York, where, for thirty years, he has been working as a full-time freelance educational writer. He has authored more than fifty books for children and young adults, many of which, like Paul Revere and The Seminoles, reflect his interest in American history. He has been a long-time, avid student of the Civil War period and a regular visitor to Civil War battlefields.

It was during one such visit, when he encountered a pair of ragged, “hard core” re-enactors in threadbare Confederate uniforms, that the idea for Bloody Lane came to him. It is his first novel and first collaboration with Matthew Fleury, his longtime friend, whom he met while attending Binghamton University. Martin lives in Manhattan with his wife, Marcia Miller, and their dog, Gracie.

Martin Lee

Martin Lee

Garn Press Author

(Photo © Vickers & Beechler)

Paperback: 978-1-942146-25-4
Hardcover: 978-1-942146-23-0
eBook: 978-1-942146-27-8

Bloody Lane

Felix Allaben is a haunted man. Haunted by the memory of his wife, gunned down in a mugging gone awry. Haunted by his responsibilities as a single father of a teenage girl. And, as Bloody Lane opens, haunted by the murder of Curtis Gwynn, an ex-cop whom Allaben had known when both served in the Baltimore Police Department. Gwynn is found dressed in the uniform of a Civil War re-enactor on the hallowed grounds of the Antietam battlefield—shot through the head.

Allaben is a special investigator with the Department of Justice. He has been summoned by a shadowy official in Washington to get to the bottom of the crime. Working in tandem with the local sheriff, Felix weaves his way through a maze of leads, lies, and dead ends in his effort to make sense of this first death and of others that unexpectedly follow. In so doing, he comes up against an armed, active, neo-Confederate hate group operating out of a local gun club and bent on domestic terrorism.

The suspects are many. Among them are an unstable realtor with whom Gwynn was having an affair; her alcoholic, hot-headed husband; their son, a Civil War enthusiast who’s been upset by the unsavory lifestyles of his parents; her brother, a rising politician, and a retired Navy contractor, as well as other members of the aforementioned militia.

Bloody Lane is set in and around Frederick, Maryland, a small city with an intriguing past. The infamous Civil War battle of Antietam, fought nearby, yielded the single bloodiest day in American history. The conclusion is both violent and unsettling.

Purchase Bloody Lane

Available in hardcover, paperback and ebook.

Bloody Lane

Loved it! If you’re a Civil War buff, you won’t be able to put this book down. But even if you know nothing at all about that history, you’ll quickly be hooked by an ingenious plot and a fascinating cast of characters. Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury are natural-born story-tellers, and I congratulate them for keeping me guessing right up until the surprising climax. Bloody Lane is a bloody good read!

Krin Gabbard

Professor Emeritus, Stony Brook University

Felix Allaben is a vividly drawn, hard-boiled character in the tradition of Philip Marlowe or Sam Spade. After a murder at historic Antietam battlefield, Detective Allaben gets pulled into a murky and dangerous world, where nothing is as it appears. Stylish, taut, complex … a bloody good read.

Justin Martin

Author, Rebel Souls: Walt Whitman and America’s First Bohemians

An engaging and well-plotted mystery surrounding the battlefield at Antietam and the long term impact of the Civil War on this country’s political and social evolution. This book has something to offer both crime novel enthusiasts and history buffs alike, providing interesting characters, an evocative setting, and well-crafted storytelling. I’m hoping for a lengthy series and more adventures with Felix.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

A real page-turner, beautifully written. A clever plot with a final twist that fits seamlessly into the story line. In addition to the thrill of an excellently crafted detective story the reader gets the bonus of a serious lesson in Civil War history, impeccably researched. Not to be missed.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

A murder mystery with true-to-life characters and intriguing clues, Bloody Lane works on many levels. And the locale and setting in and around Civil War battlegrounds suffuses the narrative in ghostly echoes from those bygone killing fields. Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury brew this alchemy with a mastery one would never expect from first time novelists.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

I loved this book. A perfect combination of thriller murder mystery and historical background. I have done extensive reading about the Civil War and so this novel had me from page one. It was a real page turner. Loved the characters and background information. The author weaves a great plot that keeps you guessing till the last page. I vote for a sequel is soon as possible.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

Brilliantly written – a real page turner! Lee and Fleury keep up the suspense while providing a lush glimpse into the world of Felix Allaben. The visceral descriptions of characters and surroundings make for a rewarding experience for the reader, who is effortlessly transported into the modern day Western Maryland, while occasionally being encouraged to imagine what that very region was like during the Civil War.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

As a reader addicted to crime fiction, it’s a joy to find a new book clearly authored by writers who understand their craft and the genre. The story is an interesting blend of today and yesterday and there’s a nice counterpoint to the plot, especially for history buffs. Felix Allaben, the book’s special investigator, is special indeed. Characters are finely drawn, and if you haven’t visited any Civil War battlefields, you’ll feel like you were right there! This book is smart and enjoyable.

Amazon Customer

Amazon

Martin Lee Video – “The Author Speaks”

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education.

Martin Lee Video – “Readers Theater”

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education.

Martin Lee Photos

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education.

Related Martin Lee News

Martin Lee grew up in New York City. His degrees are in American History and Education. After teaching in New York City and in Arizona, he returned to New York, where, for thirty years, he has been working as a full-time freelance educational writer. He has authored more than fifty books for children and young adults, many of which, like Paul Revere and The Seminoles, reflect his interest in American history. He has been a long-time, avid student of the Civil War period and a regular visitor to Civil War battlefields.

GARN FALL FICTION BOOK SERIES: Bloody Lane

GARN FALL FICTION BOOK SERIES: Bloody Lane Welcome to the Garn Press Fall Fiction Book Series featuring our recommended fiction books from the Garn library. Today’s recommended fall fiction book: Bloody Lane by Martin Lee and Matthew Fleury. Now available. Paperback...

read more

Garn Press Authors Receive Outstanding Kirkus Reviews

Garn Press Authors Receive Outstanding Kirkus Reviews “Why Kirkus?” we’re asked at Garn Press when we recommend a Kirkus Review. There are five reasons: Kirkus has been reviewing books since 1933 and has gravitas in publishing and is trusted by the industry to publish...

read more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!